The ILG Coint & Plick Awards

Coint & Plick 2010 #61b: Alan Wake

Posted in 2010 by trdn89 on May 5, 2011

19 points, 2 votes

Official Game Site

Craig G: This game genuinely spooked me and got me panicky in places when fighting/running for survival. The narration really reminded me of Max Payne, which I loved back in the day. I didn’t finish the game, but I really want to, just to get the rest of the story (though I think I heard it ends on a cliffhanger). The episodic layout of the game had an almost certainly deliberate Twin Peaks feel to it, and also fits quite nicely with my short attention span.

GM: the visuals are not a problem at all. kinda digging it so far, despite similarities to failures like Heavy Rain and Silent Hill: Shattered Memories.

Cozen: the visual style reminds me more of the 2005 remake of the fog

bnw: some good ideas behind this game but plagued with an unlikable main character who never shuts up … I think its biggest issue is that its just not freaky/weird enough especially in comparison to SH. it tries for this psychological thriller level but isn’t smart enough to move it past cliches.

Euro-Gamer

jjjusten: not one scare in the whole thing, ultra repetetive gameplay to the point of huge frustration, garbage script, super boring visually, makes the color palatte in FO3 look like a rainbow brite episode, pointless driving sections, terrible characters, and for bonus points direct ripoffs of other games and the most noxious product placement ive ever seen (not in quantity, but in the way its done). god i hated this game.

Tagged with: , ,

Leave a Reply

