The ILG Coint & Plick Awards

Coint & Plick 2008 #8a: Dead Space

Posted in 2008 by trdn89 on February 23, 2010

60 points, 6 votes

Official game site

John Justen: Really creepy. Like, convincingly and intensely and upsettingly creepy. Fantastic AI, great implementation of versatility in replay and Jesus Christ: can every other developer in the universe please pay attention to the HUD design in this plz plz plz
I think the shitty shitty demo probably did more to keep people from buying this than it did to enhance sales as it is totally unrepresentative of what makes this game great.

Roberto Spiralli: i QUITE METAPHORICALLY shit my pants playing it. Can’t remember last time I was this creeped out by a game; kudos to the makers. I thought this was really superb. It became more of a shooter at the end with the game throwing more monsters your way to keep it tough, but I didn’t mind so much. I’ll definitely play through again.

David R: What I want:
1) Ammo
2) A character that will STOMP on the fucking thing I want STOMPED
3) A character that will SWING at the fucking thing I want SWUNG AT
What Dead Space offers: NONE OF THE FUCKING ABOVE

Will M: This is officially the first thing I’ve ever booted up on my new 5.1 and OMG THE SOUND

Latebloomer: Seriously never thought a game about monsters in space would appeal to me on any level.

Cozwn: I haven’t been this tense crossing an empty room since MGS1.

PostMortem

S1ocki: Not that the game’s story isn’t the most derivative Alien/Aliens/Event Horizon bite to begin with, but man does it go to shit in the end. Are you supposed to have read the comic book or watched the straight-to-DVD movie to figure out what the deal is with the climax?

Mordy: I finished the first two chapters and then decided I needed a break; it is very intense. I love the interface; it really raises the level of the stress when you can’t jump out of the game to check your inventory. I hate using the store or a mod machine and wondering whether something is creeping behind my back. Especially because something often is.
I do feel like it suffers in comparison to Fallout 3. Obviously they are doing different things, but it still pales.

Tagged with: , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dead Space 2 for XBOX360 said, on January 13, 2011 at 5:29 pm

    I though it intereating.


Leave a Reply

