The ILG Coint & Plick Awards

Coint & Plick 2008 #6: Rock Band

Posted in 2008 by trdn89 on February 23, 2010

73 points, 6 votes, 1.5 TOP GAME votes

Official game site

Nhex: I don’t own a current generation console besides the DS, so my picks reflect that for the most part – my time with next-gen games comes mostly from playing friends’ machines during visits. That’s why Rock Band 2 scores so highly, and the two Wii games that were quite fun but played less score lower down the list.

Mitch Krpata: The most purely fun game I played in 2008. Alone or with friends, for five minutes or five hours, it always leaves me smiling. The gameplay is just terrific. My drum skills are at the point where medium difficulty is a little too easy and hard difficulty is just about within my range. It seems like Harmonix has calibrated the difficulty levels exactly — the toughest songs on medium seem about equal to the easiest songs on hard. It’s a simple and logical progression for the low-talent drummer.

HI DERE: I got my wife to start a band with me! She’s playing bass and every now and then gets mad at me because on easy, the guitar parts are way easier most of the time.

Mr. Snrub: WHY DOES THE WII VERSION SUCK SO FUCKING BAD??? Screw it. I’m getting an 360 and buying that version. I don’t care if it costs $550 or whatever.

Polyphonic: Disappointing. It’s like they just released the first game with new songs, and even made it harder to unlock songs. Maybe it’s better if you have the $300 drum kit but the regular new kit isn’t much better than the old one and a lot of the early songs in the playlist kinda suck. Too easy even compared to the last one.

Tagged with: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

