The ILG Coint & Plick Awards

Coint & Plick 2008 #33: Bioshock

Posted in 2008 by trdn89 on February 23, 2010

25 points, 1 vote

Official game site

Antexit: I think I’m about halfway through now. This game gets hella difficult around the midway point. The stealth stuff drives me bananas and there’s a little too many retrieval-style missions, but this game is fascinating and super fun and crazy imaginative and is the best-looking and best-sounding game I’ve ever seen.

Melton Mowbray: Cor, this game is good. Last night, whilst playing it I thought “Fuck, this game is boring. I feel like I’ve been playing it for hours.” Turned it off and went to bed only to find it was 5:30am. I’d been playing it all night!

I also wonder how much better the graphics would’ve been had they not been compressed to fit on a DVD.

Matt D: Bioshock is the first game that lets me combine the power of fire and bees into flaming bees. This is totally worth the price of admission on its own, especially when the application of said flaming bees makes the enemies scream “Fire AND Bees? That’s just not FAIR!”

Jeff Le Vine: I feel like this was an over-rated, but very solid game. It’s a bit of a drag that the game has no replayability and no multiplayer. It would have been great fun if after beating the game solo you could play a powered-up co-op campaign in the same world, just for laughs. I also felt like there were just too many hacking mini-games (when I got the achievement for beating fifty of those I felt sick) and too many hunt and fetch elements to the game. The story is also a bit sparse. Still, it was fairly addictive and certainly an appealing world to stomp around in for five days.

Tagged with: , ,

Leave a Reply

