The ILG Coint & Plick Awards

Coint & Plick 2008 #28a: Metal Gear Solid 4

Posted in 2008 by trdn89 on February 23, 2010

(2-way tie for #28)

27 points, 3 votes

Official game site

Roberto Spiralli: Does anyone actually want to sit through a ninety minute cut scene? Nine minutes would be too much for me.

Mr. Raif: There is no doubt it’s an incredible game, but if you’re going to have cutscenes this long then the balance with the gameplay needs to be right. The opening was incredible, though; Otacon got mad at me for trying to take on the Gekko, LOL. I did the hold up and crotch grab on one of the super female soldiers then she CQC’d my ass. The little Snatcher bot is awesome.

Burt Stanton: Games like MGS4 are one reason I can’t play new videogames … they’re waaayyyyyyyy too involved now. It’s like you have to dedicate your life to these things. Just let me jump in and kill some shit while I’m waiting for my Boboli pizza to cook.

Jeff Le Vine: It’s sort of more of a tv mini-series than a game but the cutscenes really are pretty impressive. So far I don’t mind that over half the time I’m playing I don’t need to even hold the controller. I do like the actual game play so far; sneaking works pretty good, shooting is fine and switching in and out of first person works well. The graphics are really nice. I’m about nine hours into the “game” so far; maybe only five hours of play. I tried out the online component for about an hour,played some deathmatch, team deathmatch and a sneaking game… it’s terrible. Probably the worst multiplayer game I’ve ever tried. How do you create a shooting game where the shooting is so awful?

Adam: I can’t tell if Hideo Kojima is the most brilliant man alive or just insane and drunk on his own power. One of the MGS4 reviews i read said he has collected every pokemon in every Pokemon game. God, there is a monster cutscene on right now. I have already gone to the bathroom, gotten something to eat, eaten it, gotten caught up on this thread and Drebin is still running his fucking mouth.

Kingfish: Otacon now looks like Bono, sans bloat.

Matt D: I don’t want to go into details for fear of spoilers, but wow; possibly best wrap-up ending for the series and the character of Solid Snake possible. It really exceeded my expectations.

Cankles: I can’t believe some of you people defend this shit! Consistently! Fuck you! FUCK YOU!!!!

Tagged with: , ,

Leave a Reply

