The ILG Coint & Plick Awards

Coint & Plick 2008 #21b: Audiosurf

Posted in 2008, PC Games of the Year by trdn89 on February 23, 2010

30 points, 2 votes, 1 TOP GAME vote

Official game site

Brilliam: Someone on ILX said of Audiosurf, “if you hate this game, you probably don’t like good music.” Pretentious, probably a bit inaccurate but there’s a seed of truth there: if you don’t like Audiosurf, you’re playing it wrong. I’ve listened to new records using this and it makes it even easier for me to absorb them on first listen because I am so intently focused on little idiosyncrasies.

Nhex: Audiosurf sets an example of what the PC platform of 2008 could be – a wonderful, independently-developed niche game with great appeal to a hardcore base while still accessible to a broad audience. It’s sold purely through digital distribution at a very low price (I bought it for a mere $2.50 on sale) and uses online scoreboards and friends lists to cement the game’s sense of community. How much one enjoys this game really depends on how much you’re into falling block puzzlers (especially stuff like Panel de Pon or Puzzle League) and how appropriate your music collection is to ‘play’ to. I also love getting emails that someone across the world has beaten my score on a track.

Will M: I totally still boot this up every once in a while. I like listening to new records on it because it puts you in this great head-state halfway between DISTRACTED and PAYING ATTENTION VERY ACUTELY that’s just like “Whoa, I am digging this ‘Love Is All’ record more than I thought I would…”

JimD: It’s buggy as hell, the online scoreboards only work intermittently and every now and again it gives me a blank screen to play on, but still addictive. It’s just fast and smooth and pretty and fun trying it out with different songs to see what effects they have on the tracks. Fantastic idea! Addictiveness +10!

Dom Passantino: ‘Beating Heart Baby’ by Head Automatica becomes the best song ever when played on this.

Melton Mowbray: Really enjoying this at the moment. Everyone keeps watching me play, which is a good sign because no one likes to watch me play computer games.

Jeff LeVine: I’d say it’s worth ten bucks. Works great with the 360 controller. I tried out all the different sound effects, then tried it with none – which I like the most, I guess – there’s a little controller vibration every time you hit a brick, which is actually a better indicator than the built in sound effects – and doesn’t distract from listening to the music as much. Erik Satie was a very good suggestion.

Trayce: OMG YES AUTECHRE. Autechre is AWESOME on this thing. So is really heavy shit like Meshuggah, and 65dos. Give it a try.

Forksclovetofu: Can someone please explain why this isn’t on XBLA yet?

Tagged with: , ,

Leave a Reply

