The ILG Coint & Plick Awards

Coint & Plick 2008 #20: Soul Calibur 4

Posted in 2008 by trdn89 on February 23, 2010

30 points, 3 votes

Official game site

Mordy: Sometimes it’s fun to beat the shit out of your friends. Over and over and over again.

No, I’m fronting. I suck at this game.

Jeff Le Vine: Can I have the version without the Star Wars characters, please? I don’t know why this is turning me off exactly, but it is.

Polyphonic: While I’m tempted to place the criminally underrated Mortal Kombat vs. DC Universe on my list instead, it can’t match the glory of this game. Nothing much has changed here … they just took a great game and made it better and prettier.

Lamp: Looks incredible, plays incredible and offers on-line play and a ‘create fighter’ option. Such a dope fucking game. If u want 2 know more, I recommend you go find the YouTube where some fat British beardo takes two-and-half minutes to open the shrink-wrap on his copy of the game (Ed. Note: couldn’t find this…?). Sieg is #1 A+++ character for all time; dude’s ring outs are the key to a bunch of the challenges.

HI DERE: The create-your-own-character mode is awesome because it gives me the ability to play a Talim-style character without having to actually play as a 10-year-old girl. Also the story mode is great, largely because I had huge chunks of the mythology totally wrong (I thought Ivy was evil…?) but also because of the awesome Siegfried/Nightmare endings. The new characters are kind of bizarre but cool (although too many are yelpy) and Darth Vader actually plays pretty well. I just started ascending the tower and it’s very reminiscent of the awesome quest mode in SCII, which means I like it a lot. It’s a tiny bit aggravating that you have no idea what conditions will unlock the unlockables until you’ve met them, though.

Will M: I think every single Soul Calibur character is more interesting than every single Star Wars character and that’s saying something.

Tagged with: , ,

Leave a Reply

