The ILG Coint & Plick Awards

Coint & Plick 2008 #18: GRID

Posted in 2008 by trdn89 on February 23, 2010

30 points, 4 votes, 1 TOP GAME vote

Official game site

Ledge: ***LOVE*** drifting and am pretty decent at it; the muscle car stuff and road races in general are great (although often pretty damn tough). I don’t dig and am bad at the proper racetrack events. The Le Mans race is my worst nightmare.

Cozwyn: This game is heaps of fun and gorgeous. The tracks are great, the cars all feel different, there’s lots of fun modes and a deep enough career system for an arcade racer. Everything feels very fast; heaps of fun

Ste: I’m so psychologically pissed sometimes when it comes to this game; as soon as I get into first place, I just start sweating madly and lose concentration, followed by usually performing the most horrendous accident ever. I thought it was great, a lot more fun than any other racing game I’ve tried on the PS3.
I love just doing that rewind shit on my crashes, it’s so surreal. The radio commentary is fantastic and it’s great how they tell you who is doing what on a race, sometimes in a tone like you’re supposed to know who the hell they are. “Donny Taylor just span out”. OH NO NOT DONNY!

Jeff Le Vine: I see the game has made a lot of top ten lists, so obviously people liked it, but I probably hated this like no other I played this year – which is weird, because I really enjoy DiRT. Even with a joystick I just couldn’t get used to the slippery way the vehicles handle and bounced off things. It hit a weird middle ground, not arcade enough and not sim enough. I also hated the nickname thing. It just seems to me that there are so many other better driving game options out there right now, even on a console.
I just threw this game in the garbage. Feeling a lot better now 🙂

Tagged with: , ,

Leave a Reply

