The ILG Coint & Plick Awards

Coint & Plick 2008 #14: Professor Layton and the Curious Village

Posted in 2008, DS Games of the Year by trdn89 on February 23, 2010

41 points, 6 votes

Official game site

Nhex: Layton is a top quality DS title: great production, lots and lots and lots of puzzles of varying quality, lovely art design and characters – just a really pleasant time and the best game I had the chance to play in this great year for the DS.

CraigG: This one’s a bit of an anomaly: it’s just a bunch of crappy logic puzzles but the animation sequences and storyline tied it together surprisingly well.

Deleted Scenes

JimD: I’ve been playing this for the last week or so, I guess I’m about two thirds of the way through now and it’s completely adorable! Cute story, lovely atmosphere, fun puzzles at just the right level of difficulty and a very broad range of appeal: I can totally imagine Nintendo’s target DS audience of fifty-somethings digging it and yet I keep thinking about how perfect it would’ve been for me when I was a precocious 9 year old too. I totally recommend it.

Abbott: I solved half these puzzles from ‘2347 Classic Riddles’ type books as a child but I forgot most of them, so… The moving blocks around puzzles are so satisfying. I kind of have a crush on Layton.

ZS: I like this game a lot, but why is the first “hint” you get always so useless?
Puzzle about numbers: ‘Try thinking about the relationships of the numbers to their surroundings’
Oooooooh, THAT’s it.

Tagged with: , ,

Leave a Reply

