The ILG Coint & Plick Awards

Coint & Plick 2008 #49: FIFA 09

Posted in 2008 by trdn89 on February 22, 2010

14 points, 2 votes

Official game site

Polyphonic: I don’t understand socc… I mean, football. I’ve never played it; I never watch it apart from the World Cup and I have a shaky understanding of its rules. But I love sports video games, and when a good one comes along, I will play it until I puke.

Roberto Spiralli : Yet again, this is fucking terrible. The biggest problem is the movement of the players which is unnatural, clumsy and very axis-bound. Turning is sluggish and gives the feel of dragging oil tankers around the pitch. When I went to pass, what happened onscreen was frequently not quite what I intended. Tackling is very weird, partly automated and I couldn’t get the hang of it at all. I don’t know how they keep getting it so wrong, except for the fact that people keep buying this shit and it gets the same lazy ass decent reviews every time, so maybe the developers don’t even know that their product sucks.

Cozwyn: I never thought I’d say anything positive about FIFA in my life but this game is meaty and physical and deep and FUN!! The shooting is definitely the best bit; it feels crunchy and heavy compared to PES’ floaty and light kicks. The animation is, as ever, impeccable but there was some horrid slowdown during replays.

MPx4A: It is a disgrace that there is no training mode, but it is quite good that the soundtrack has Cut Copy and Gonzalez EA really appear to have brought their A-game with regards to the online possibilities in this; just as long as you have the means to play with people who will pass the ball in co-op games and not just pick Man United all the time, you’re likely to find a good match.

AleXTC: The level of detail in the gameplay and moves/combinations you can do is just great.

Tagged with: , , ,

Leave a Reply

