The ILG Coint & Plick Awards

Coint & Plick 2008 #40a: Violet: A Distraction

Posted in 2008 by trdn89 on February 22, 2010

(4-way tie for #40)

15 points, 2 votes

Official game site – Download Here

Mordy: I was probably predisposed to like this trifle of a game. Your protagonist is a boyfriend trying to finish his dissertation before his girlfriend leaves him. I know what it’s like to write a paper while every distraction in the world is pulling at you. But also, I know what it’s like to not want to disappoint someone you love. As you destroy your girlfriend’s gifts, trying to salvage your relationship, the game doubles up on pathos. It’s also the funniest and most surreal game to be written this year. A good argument that the age of interactive fiction is far from bankrupt of ideas.

Gravel Puzzleworth : I thought it was cute, although it left me a bit cold – actually I spent 20% of my time playing kind of outraged how this genuine first-time-author game was so much better implemented than any other IF I’d played – it sort of confirmed to me that when standard IF doesn’t understand me it’s the culture being wicked insular rather than some technical inability to do so?

Tagged with: , ,

Leave a Reply

