The ILG Coint & Plick Awards

Coint & Plick 2009 #9: Torchlight

Posted in 2009 by trdn89 on February 15, 2010

72 points, 5 votes, 1 TOP GAME vote

Official Game Site

Metacritic

Euler: Definitely not a game that easily justifies its value to non-gamers—it’s just point and click and kill and level and repeat. Even so, it hits a sweet spot that reminds me why I can never allow myself to play WoW. At least Torchlight goes to sleep when I do.

Developer Interview

BNW: The amount of inventory shuffling and identifying gets annoying. They put in vendors to do just about everything except identify your shit. I have been playing this as an alchemist summoner who runs from battle and makes his minions kill everything. Sometimes it gets so chaotic I can’t tell what I have summoned that is still alive.

Webber : Prettier Diablo with mods. I really like clicking on monsters and then watching them die and then clicking on the things they drop and putting them on and then doing it over and over again.

The Art of Torchlight

Dyao: This takes everything annoying about Diablo 2 and smooths it out.

Forksclovetofu: As a longtime proponent of the theory that Diablo 2 is the best game of the past decade, this was a no-brainer of a pick. Sure, it wears thin after about twenty hours and in retrospect I almost wish I’d spent my vote points on Shadow Complex/SMT: Devil Survivor/Arkham now that I played them, but no real regrets.

Zero Punctuation Review

Tagged with: , ,

Leave a Reply

