The ILG Coint & Plick Awards

Coint & Plick 2009 #48: Killzone 2

Posted in 2009 by trdn89 on February 15, 2010

18 points, 2  votes

Official Game Site

S1ocki: Okay, I borrowed this from work yesterday, played for a bit and was like “This is ooooookaaaaaaay…” and then all of the sudden it was two in the morning. Hey, imagine eating a calzone while playing Killzone!!!

Metacritic

Guerilla Games Post Mortem Interview

JeffLevine: There are lots of great things about this game, not the least of which is the best graphics of any console multiplayer game so far. The multiplayer is particularly strong. I do feel that as you rank up and unlock over-powered abilities, the game gets worse. I had a lot of fun getting to the tipping point, though I still haven’t bothered finishing the single player campaign. If you’re a bit burned out on this kind of walking through gray worlds shooting dudes type game already, it probably won’t rock your world.

Forksclovetofu: When games look this realistic and take themselves this seriously, I tend to feel guilty playing them; they become more ultra-realistic murder simulators than recreation. Undeniably gorgeous and likely fun to play if I could get past the squickyness, but I just got a little turned off after only an hour of play. Back to Rittai Picross for me; at least it doesn’t make me question my humanity.

Cutty: I had to change the sensitivity and the control layout (too heavy and sluggish on both the X and Y axis and zoom/aim was mapped to the right thumbstick instead of L1; what were they thinking?) but besides that I’m into this for sure. The enemy AI is GREAT.

“In Killzone 2, you play a midget on a rampage.”

Skygreenleopard: My biggest frustration is that no one seems to use the squad feature well. Occasionally I’ll play with some clan dudes that roll together and take out everyone as they converge upon them, which is awesome. I vow never to use a headset, but working with a guy who has one makes me feel bad. Ninety percent of the time I’m working with people with better ranks and abilities than I have and they are WAY better at the game, yet they’d win that many more matches if they just covered my ass once and didn’t get me shotgunned in the back.

Tagged with: , ,

Leave a Reply

