The ILG Coint & Plick Awards

Coint & Plick 2009 #39: Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor

Posted in 2009 by trdn89 on February 15, 2010

27 points, 2 votes, 1 TOP GAME vote

Official Game Site

Metacritic

Forksclovetofu: I tend not to dig handheld RPGs; they either demand all your time and then you’re staring at a tiny screen or they try to pack too much into the experience and I lose interest. SMT: DS bridges the gap nicely; each fight is only about fifteen or twenty minutes; the storyline is surprisingly not lame, play mechanics are easy to use and engaging (love the demon auction and fusion system!) and the atmosphere/art is great. This is what I wanted The World Ends With You to be like. Totally recommended and would have made my list if I’d played it before I cast my vote.

Siliconera

Cozwn: devil survivor is rad btw fuiud

Will M: This game manages to be both familiar (grid-based tactics gameplay, Dragon Quest-style battles, hip-kids-in-Shibuya storyline) and somehow simultaneously refreshing and new (I am not sure I can justify that, because I don’t understand why it’s actually “new” in any way). It also has the most clever “who you make friends with defines your ending” mechanics I think there’s ever been in a game; it susses out your philosophy on life and crisis and shapes the fate of Tokyo around it.

Tagged with: , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sora said, on March 13, 2011 at 11:22 pm

    devil survivor ada secret battle ???


Leave a Reply

