The ILG Coint & Plick Awards

Coint & Plick 2009 #38: Mario & Luigi: Bowser’s Inside Story

Posted in 2009 by trdn89 on February 15, 2010

27 points, 3 votes

Official Game Site

Metacritic

Abbott: I am having a lot of fun playing Inside Story; like, too much fun. But I hate when a game throws in something needlessly difficult as an aside that you have to do before you can proceed. The carrot-eating stylus minigame is just pissing me off.

Localizing Mario

Toastmodernist: The best DS game I’ve played in a long time; much better than even Partners in Time.

Some Basic Concepts

Jamescobo: The best game in the best series in contemporary gaming. At the risk of sounding like a hardline extremist, anyone who doesn’t like it ought to be raped to death by a horse.

CraigG : I played Mario & Luigi Partners in Time last year, which I never finished thanks to a corrupt save game 30 hours in, so I looked forward to this for a long time and it didn’t disappoint. I love the humor in the Mario & Luigi RPGs, and the RPG-Lite nature makes this perfect train fodder, but for one fatal flaw: I hate hate hate having to blow at, shout at – or otherwise make a tit of myself with – the DS. These features are fine for inclusion in a game, but make it an option. It’s the same rant I always seem to have about the Wii; all the waving of controllers is fine, but give me the option to press a button instead. Sometimes I reach a point where a game needs more than just button input, so I have to stop playing it, which can be annoying if it happens early on a long journey.

Tagged with: , ,

Leave a Reply

