The ILG Coint & Plick Awards

Coint & Plick 2009 #20: Uncharted 2: Among Thieves

Posted in 2009 by trdn89 on February 15, 2010

52 points, 4 votes

Official Game Site

Metacritic

Antexit: FUCK YOU UNCHARTED 2 FOR MAKING MY 720p TV FEEL BAD ABOUT ITSELF

Nolan North Interview

M@tt He1ges0n: I don’t post on ILG. But Uncharted 2. Holy shit.

The Sexual Politics of UC2

Skygreenleopard: This game is great! I wasn’t sure the cover shooting system would work well in multiplayer but, if anything, it helps turn deathmatch into a movie-like experience. Close calls with snipers, ambushes, assaults, sneaking around, chaingunning madness, etc. Most times I play there are several moments that make me think, man, that was straight out of a good Indiana Jones-style movie.

Brainygamer

S1ocki: I’m not convinced games should try and be like big Hollywood blockbuster movies or tell stories in the same way, but if they do, they should all be as good as Uncharted 2. But more than that, this game was just gorgeous to look at, with a really skillful use of color that wasn’t extraneous to the gameplay itself but rather nudged it along in subtle ways.

Polyphonic: The longer I played this very impressive game, the more it wore out its welcome with me. But it clearly is the Dragon’s Lair of this era: a visually impressive game that sometimes offers only the illusion of gameplay.

Jamescobo: 10 or so years ago (ugh), I was hanging out with a friend when a commercial for Driv3r came on; my friend watched in rapt astonishment, then turned to me and said “Man, they can make video games look crazy these days.” I bring this up because (1) lol Driv3r and (2) as much as I loved Uncharted 2 (a not-insignificant amount, q.e.d. its top-five finish on my ballot), I kept thinking of that incident the whole time I was enjoying it. Five years from now, nobody will care about this game except for hoary old list-making nerds and people who were there when the game’s advancements were fresh and novel, kinda like how Avatar will inevitably get brought up a lot less once people start using 3D technology to make actual good movies. Having said that, I was there and it was awesome and it looked amazing and the setpieces were incredible (except for the final boss) and the multiplayer owned and the coop multiplayer really owned and then the baby looked at me.

Developer Interview

Forksclovetofu: The Dragon’s Lair comparison is incredibly accurate, for better and for worse.

Tagged with: , ,

Leave a Reply

