The ILG Coint & Plick Awards

Coint & Plick 2009 #2: Demon’s Souls

Posted in 2009, Most TOP GAME Votes, PS3 Games of the Year by trdn89 on February 15, 2010

156 points, 5 votes, 4 TOP GAME votes

Official Game Site

jamescobo: Real Coint & Plick starts here.

Metacritic

HIDERE: HOLY FUCK THIS GAME IS HARD

Gamasutra

Developer Interview

Hamildan: The only thing worse than playing Demon’s Souls is not playing Demon’s Souls.

Eurogamer

Antexit: I was going to put Retro Gaming Challenge on the list but I realized this pretty much covers it. This year I really like games that embrace their essential game-ness, without aspiring to other media– I love Uncharted but I still want movies to be movies and games to be games. Demon’s (or Demons or Demons’) Souls reminded me for the first time in forever what it felt like to play incredibly hard games when I was a kid — how inexplicably rewarding progress can be just for its own sake and without all the little cookies games today give you for taking every step.

Famitsu interview translated

Forksclovetofu: I started playing this during the infamous “black Halloween weekend” and the first three hours were SO FRUSTRATING, but when the game opens up and shows you its depth and payoff it’s totally worth it. When I found my first complete set of armor in a back room I was literally dancing on the couch. It’s like playing dungeons and dragons with a very very pissed off DM who knows what they’re doing. Astonishingly atmospheric and demanding but never unfair. It may be the game I’m most proud of having beaten and was absolutely my favorite game of the year.

“More like tantric sex with a slide rule”

Aarrissi-a-roni: It is the kind of game where you are guaranteed to have that dark night of the soul moment where you have to ask yourself if you are really going to do that same goddamn level for the 25th time, but a bit of perseverance will get you through. And the blue phantom mechanism is a get out of jail free card if there is a boss that you really get stuck on, as happened to me twice. I couldn’t recommend this game enough. It is really a step beyond.

The world of Demon’s Souls vs Assassin’s Creed 2

Polyphonic: I am only on World 1, Level 2 and it is already very clear that this is a deep and very cool game. Every decision that was made with the property was the right one. When I bought it at Gamestop, the dorks at the register said they hadn’t played it because they were afraid of it. Cowards.

Lamp: Technically amazing, even if it isnt particularly loveable.

Tagged with: , ,

Leave a Reply

